Minutes of a meeting of the Worthing Council 13 December 2022 at 6.00 pm

The Mayor, Councillor Henna Chowdhury The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Jim Deen

Councillor Nigel Morgan
*Councillor Richard Mulholland
Councillor Richard Nowak
*Councillor Dale Overton
Councillor Jon Roser
*Councillor Helen Silman
*Councillor Dawn Smith
*Councillor Sally Smith
Councillor Elizabeth Sparkes
Councillor Emma Taylor
*Councillor Sam Theodoridi
Councillor Hazel Thorpe
Councillor John Turley
Councillor Steve Waight
Councillor Carl Walker
Councillor Vicki Wells
Councillor Andy Whight
Councillor Rosey Whorlow

^{*=}absent

C/36/22-23 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Cooper, Coxhill, Garner and Howard.

C/37/22-23 Declarations of Interest

Members were invited to make any declarations of disclosable pecuniary interests but no declarations were made.

C/38/22-23 Conferment of Honorary Alderman - Bob Smytherman

The Mayor informed Members that at the October Council meeting it had been agreed to convene a Special Council meeting to confer the title of Honorary Alderman, on former mayor Bob Smytherman.

The conferment of the title was proposed by Councillor Martin McCabe and seconded by Councillor Hazel Thorpe.

Following a vote, it was

Resolved.

That the honour and title of Honorary Alderman for the Borough of Worthing be bestowed on Bob Smytherman in grateful recognition of his eminent and distinguished service rendered to Tarring Ward, the Council and the Borough between 2002 and 2022, pursuant to Section 249 of the Local Government Act, 1972.

The Mayor presented Honorary Alderman Bob Smytherman with his scroll.

C/39/22-23 Conferment of Honorary Alderman - Sean McDonald

The Mayor informed Members that at the October Council meeting it had been agreed to convene a Special Council meeting to confer the title of Honorary Alderman, on former mayor Sean McDonald.

The conferment of the title was proposed by Councillor Henna Chowdhury and seconded by Councillor Kevin Jenkins.

Following a vote, it was

Resolved,

That the honour and title of Honorary Alderman for the Borough of Worthing be bestowed on Sean McDonald in grateful recognition of his eminent and distinguished service rendered to Northbrook Ward, the Council and the Borough between 2014 and 2022, pursuant to Section 249 of the Local Government Act, 1972.

The Mayor presented Honorary Alderman Sean McDonald with his scroll.

The Mayor declared the meeting closed at 6.24pm, it having commenced at 6.00pm.

Mayor